What If The Only Thing God Offered You Was Suffering?

It reminds me of this question from Job 1 – “Does Job fear God for nothing?”

Do the Word

in gods underground 2As our family was studying God’s magnificent heavenly banquet, I posed this question to my children,  “What if God’s banquet that he offers us right now is suffering?  Will you accept?”

I wanted my children to be well-aware that before the promised banquet meal, God promises us suffering and persecution.  I know this sounds like an “almost heretical” statement in some Christian circles, and yet the Scriptures seem pretty clear on this point.

Whoever does not bear his own cross and come after me cannot be my disciple.  Luke 14:27

For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake.  Philippians 1:28.

Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.  2 Timothy 3:12

I began to think about the words of Rev. Richard Wurmbrand when he…

View original post 392 more words

