SEVEN THINGS JOHN WESLEY EXPECTED EVERY METHODIST PREACHER TO DO FOR KIDS

Some have called Children the “4-14 Window” – the ages when people most commonly are influenced for Christ. Wesley would seemingly agree!

People Need Jesus

Wesley For Kids

by Chris Ritter

“Gift or no gift, you are to do this, or else you are not called to be a Methodist Preacher.”  -John Wesley

At our recent annual conference session I once again heard the historic questions passed down to us from John Wesley for those joining the conference.  As the clergy candidates answered the bishop on cue, I found myself internally making my own response.   We eventually reached this one: “Will you diligently instruct the children in every place?”  My honest answer was, “No, that is not really my gift.  I will certainly make sure, however, that qualified people are doing that job.”  Upon further examination of Wesley’s actual expectation of his preachers, it is clear he would not have been satisfied with my answer.

I checked a copy of the “Large Minutes” of the United Societies.  These are written as a sort of compilation…

View original post 1,346 more words

